About the Audition

Hopefully, one week from now I will know whether I will be able to attend SF State in the Fall! We’re leaving for SF in only FOUR DAYS!!! Ack! I am both nervous and excited. I feel pretty well prepared (as prepared as I can be considering everything) and have a plan for finishing my preparations as best I can.

Preparations so far:

  • Audition songs are chosen (Obstination by Fonteneilles & If music be the food of love by Purcell) and are nearly completely prepared.
  • Repertoire has been put together
  • “Please accept me” packet has been put together in a nice folder with a cover sheet (includes cover letter & reference letter – not requested by SF State- and repertoire, and transcripts which were requested).
  • Started practicing scales on piano
  • Bought a new top from Ross and picked out the rest of the outfit
  • Got haircut

Preparations to be completed:

  • Study like crazy for the Theory and Musicianship placement tests…this will be interesting (and a little scary)
  • Practice scales on piano like crazy
  • Finish memorizing audition pieces and polishing my techniques
  • Practice “introducing” the pieces, including meaning/translation
  • Find direct translation for Obstination (might need to go to UCSB library for this – blech)
  • Get eyebrows waxed/shaped this weekend
  • Pack!

I am SO FREAKING GLAD that I have Monday off. And while I wish Nathan had the day off for his sake, I am glad I have two days in a row to work on music and study at my own pace (I’ll need to take breaks here and there…I can’t practice music alone for more than two hours straight without getting glassy-eyed).

About Knitting

Knitting has been helping me relax and unwind when I start to feel stressed, and I love how well the sweater is coming along (not that I really got much done last night, ha!). I think it’s going to be a very comfy sweater. I’m hoping that for my next sweater endeavor (besides finished the lacey Rebecca sweater), I can learn some shaping techniques. I really need it for my body type I’m thinking… Tracy recommended the second Stitch N’ Bitch book for that, so I might have to convince Nathan that I need it, hehe. Or I can wait till next month to buy it (probably wouldn’t need it before then anyway…)

About Knit Group

Last night after knit group, I realized that this is the first time in my life that I’ve actually felt like I belonged in a group of female friends. I’ve always been a “one close friend at a time” kinda person and never really found a group that I felt like I truly connected to. I always felt like the odd one out for whatever reason (I was homeschooled and everyone else went to public school, or I was older and everyone else was younger, or I acted older and didn’t fit in with either the older people or the younger people, or I was a girl and they were boys, or I was more girly girl, or not as girly girl). Anyway, you get my point.

The part I hate is that I am getting so connected, yet my time is limited. I’m trying not to let that get in the way of developing deeper friendships with everyone, though. To rip off a cliche, I’d rather have had this connectedness and “lose” it, than never have had it at all.

I definitely know that nothing is ever going to be able to replace the SB Knitters Group, even if I do find another knit group in the Berkeley area.